Unboxing: The Cruel Prince (Illumicrate Collections)

 

This is honestly the best box I’ve spent my money on.

With the actual cost of the item and the shipping fee, it was very expensive for me (around $100) and my wallet is crying just thinking about it. But I have no regrets. Because I absolutely loved everything in this box.

I started collecting special editions of books last year and now I can’t seem to stop. So when I saw that Illumicrate was releasing a special edition box of The Cruel Prince, I was curious. I admit that at the time, I heard of The Folk of the Air series but I haven’t read it yet. Seeing the announcement made me bump it to the top of my reading list. Even before reading it, I could tell that I would love it and I was absolutely right. It is definitely my most favorite series now. So, really, it was all thanks to this box.

So, without further ado, let me show you the glorious contents of this box.

the cruel prince illumicrate editions items

I mean, look at that. That’s not even including the beautiful custom dust jackets for the series which you will see later (for a surprise!).

So, let’s take a look at each item. First up, we have this gorgeous naked foiled hardback of The Cruel Prince with sprayed edges. It comes with a signed bookplate. Personally, I would prefer it if the book itself was signed but they said it was to make things easier for Holly (so she can sign books without bringing them everywhere on tour or something like that).

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Next, we have this lovely bookstand of Jude and Cardan with the quote, “Sharpen your blade, harden your heart.” I am in love with this. This alone made the box ten times better.

jude and cardan bookstand

Then we have this enamel pin with one of my favorite quotes from The Queen of Nothing: “Every part of me is a delight”. Can you guess who said it? Yes, the one and only Cardan.  😏

every part of me is a delight enamel pin

Next up we have this nice tote bag with this amazing fan art. I personally like tote bags, they’re very useful. I have a lot of them.

the cruel prince fan art tote bag

And then we have one of the things I also collect, bookmarks! I love fan arts and I can say that these are some of the best. Someday, I will definitely make a separate post just for my bookmark collection.

the cruel prince bookmarks

Next, we have this soft, fluffy Elfhame-inspired blanket. The design is lovely and the fabric is really nice to the touch. It makes me want to curl up with a good book and coffee on rainy days and cold nights.

the cruel prince blanket

And last but not least, these stunning dust jackets designed by one of my favorite artists, rosiethorns88. I can say that this is definitely the best item in this box. I am planning on buying separate copies of the series just so I can put these on.

the cruel prince custom dust jacket
The Cruel Prince
the wicked king custom dust jacket
The Wicked King
the queen of nothing custom dust jacket
The Queen of Nothing

I swear these are more beautiful in person. The pictures don’t do them justice.

So, that’s everything. I will definitely be buying the Illumicrate editions of The Wicked King and The Queen of Nothing too (to match The Cruel Prince!). Unfortunately, the box will only contain books but I guess that’s okay since I’m too broke to pay twice the shipping fee anyway. Haha. See you on my next unboxing (aka when temptation is too hard to resist). 😂

Express your sentiments.