Blog Tour & Giveaway: The Geography of Lost Things by Jessica Brody

the geography of lost things tour banner

Hello everyone! I am sooo thrilled to be part of the tour organized by Fantastic Flying Book Club for this amazing book. You can check out the tour schedule here.


the geography of lost things cover
The Geography of Lost Things by Jessica Brody

Published: October 2nd 2018 by Simon Pulse

Genre: Young Adult | Contemporary

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

About The Geography of Lost Things

In this romantic road trip story perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Morgan Matson, a teen girl discovers the value of ordinary objects while learning to forgive her absent father.

After Ali’s father passes away, he leaves his one and only prized possession—a 1968 Firebird convertible—to his daughter. But Ali doesn’t plan on keeping it. Not when it reminds her too much of all her father’s unfulfilled promises. So when she finds a buyer three hundred miles up the Pacific coast willing to pay enough money for the car to save her childhood home, Ali can’t wait to get going. Except Ali has no idea how to drive a stick shift. But guess who does?

Ali’s ex-boyfriend, Nico. And Nico has other plans.

He persuades Ali that instead of selling the car, they should “trade up” the items they collect on their trip to eventually reach the monetary amount Ali needs. Agreeing with Nico’s crazy plan, Ali sets off on a unique adventure that is unlike anything she ever could have expected.

And it’s through Ali’s travels, through the strangers she meets and the things that they value—and why they value them—that Ali eventually comes to understand her father and how his life may not have been as easy and carefree as she previously thought. Because just like the seemingly insignificant objects Ali collects, not everything is exactly as it appears.

A copy was given to me via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

RATING: ★★★★★

You know that feeling when you read the blurb and you think that you already know the story?

That’s the impression I had of this book. I thought this would be a light read, complete with all the cliches ever made for road trips and contemporary romance stories. But I was wrong. ABSOLUTELY wrong. Because this book was so, so much more than that.

I am surprised at how much emotion there is in this book.

I felt the awkwardness between Nico and Ali, their hurt over how things ended between them, and how they tried so hard to let go of their feelings. There was also one scene which was so shocking and devastating, I felt like their sorrow was my own. At one point, it even made me cry.

One of the things that I loved about this book is how the story smoothly transitioned between the past and the present. It only gives you what is needed and will keep you guessing for more. It was unpredictable. It was intriguing.

Reading this felt like an adventure on its own.

If you think the focus of this book is the romance, you’re wrong. This book is about love, yes. But there are different kinds of love. Ultimately, this book is about trust and forgiveness. It is about how sometimes, we let go of things for fear of getting hurt, when at the end of the day, we’re the ones who end up hurting ourselves.

“Sometimes, we throw things away and we never get them back. But sometimes, when we’re really lucky, they come back to us.”


About the Author

Jessica BrodyJessica Brody knew from a young age that she wanted to be a writer. She started self “publishing” her own books when she was seven years old, binding the pages together with cardboard, wallpaper samples, and electrical tape.

After graduating from Smith College in 2001 where she double majored in Economics and French and minored in Japanese, Jessica later went on to work for MGM Studios as a Manager of Acquisitions and Business Development. In May of 2005, Jessica quit her job to follow her dream of becoming a published author.

Since then, Jessica has sold over twelve novels for teens, tweens, and adults.

Website | TumblrTwitter | Facebook | Instagram


Also, for USA readers, two of you can get a chance to win a finished copy of The Geography of Lost Things! Go join in the link below. 😉

 Take Me to the Giveaway

14 thoughts on “Blog Tour & Giveaway: The Geography of Lost Things by Jessica Brody

  1. This sounds so awesome!! Because I’m not an avid reader, I don’t normally look too much into book reviews but I am so glad I read this one. You may have just opened my eyes to a brand new side of blog reading….
    Lots of love, Lavrax xx

    Liked by 1 person

Express your sentiments.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s