Poetry Friday: How to Know Love from Deceit

poetry-friday-logo

Happy Friday!

As I was thinking of a poem to post for Poetry Friday, I suddenly remembered one of my all-time favorites. But since I only memorized the first verse, I did some research on Google and I was so shocked by what I found out!

Have you heard of the famous quote, “Love to faults is always blind, always is to joy inclined..“?

All these years I thought it was by Shakespeare (and it does sound like him) but apparently, it is not! 😱

It’s actually by William Blake.

William Blake was an English poet, painter, and printmaker. Largely unrecognized during his lifetime, Blake is now considered a seminal figure in the history of the poetry and visual arts of the Romantic Age.

Below is the full poem.

blake

I guess I was not the only one who thought so since if you google the first verse, a lot of the photo edits that come up attributed it to Shakespeare.

Somehow, this situation reminded of the famous quote below which many believed to be from John Green but was actually written by blogger Melody Truong.

“I’m in love with the places I’ve never been to and people I’ve never met.”

Did you know about this quote and thought it was by Shakespeare too? Let me know about your thoughts in the comments below. 😀

Poetry Friday is a weekly post on KookBookery featuring all kinds of poetry, from classic to contemporary.

Express your sentiments.

