Blogger Recognition Award

img_4258
Hurray!

Huge thank you to uncovered-books for nominating me for the Blogger Recognition Award! Do check them out for honest and unbiased book reviews.

How KookBookery Began

Initially, I made reviews so that even long after I’ve read a book, I can look back and remember how it made me feel. I have the worst memory when it comes to books no matter how much I liked them. I wanted to organize them in one place and that is how this blog came to be.

I really wish I started this sooner. You don’t get paid for it but it certainly has its perks a.k.a. FREE BOOKS!

Meaning Behind the Name

KookBookery was taken from the following words:

kook
noun  \ˈkük\
— one whose ideas or actions are eccentric, fantastic, or insane
bookery
noun  book·ery  \ˈbu̇k(ə)rē\
— archaic  :  library

No insane logic behind it, really. I just wanted something nice and catchy.
(Someone once asked me if I review cookbooks so I felt the need to explain it. Haha!)

Advice to Other Bloggers

Write as if you’re speaking to a friend. You don’t have to be the greatest writer to become a good blogger.  With the number of things we can do on the internet, chances are, most people will just skim through you posts especially when it’s too technical and formal. Make your readers feel comfortable. Write in a way that will keep them interested. Be concise. We don’t have all the time in the world.

Be true to yourself and have fun. Cliché as it sounds, there’s a reason why people keep saying it. Don’t be obsessed about trying to get people to like you. Don’t say things you don’t mean just because you want it said back. Don’t sell yourself out. Do it because you want to not because you’re supposed to. Have fun. Make new friends. Fall in love (just kidding).

Note: The above are mostly advice I also want to tell myself.
My Nominations for the Blogger Recognition Award:

To the people I’ve nominated above, I think you’re awesome. If you already received this award, you’re twice as much! 😀

Here are the award rules:
  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  2. Write a post to show your award.
  3. Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  4. Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
  5. Select other bloggers you want to give this award to.
  6. Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them and provide the link to the post you created.
9 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Thank you so, so much for the nomination again. GREAT advice here. You can definitely tell when people are being genuine and are passionate about the topics they’re writing about. And I LOVE your blog name by the way!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations! 🙂 I really enjoyed reading about your blog’s beginnings and I quite like the alliteration in the name… Sounds really cool and musical!
    I guess, in a way, I also started writing reviews for the same reason. I have terrible memory! But then came the need to also share my thoughts on a book/etc with someone else and get a different point of view.
    Great advice and keep up the great work ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Express your sentiments.

