Review: The Princess Saves Herself in this One

30075802

The Princess Saves Herself in this One by Amanda Lovelace

Published April 23rd 2016 by CreateSpace (a newer edition will be published on February 14th 2017 by Andrews McMeel Publishing)

Genre: Poetry

Recommended to: people who like raw and emotional writing

add to goodreads
add to goodreads

“Ah, life- the thing that happens to us while we’re off somewhere else blowing on dandelions & wishing ourselves into the pages of our favorite fairy tales.”

A poetry collection divided into four different parts: the princess, the damsel, the queen, & you. The princess, the damsel, & the queen piece together the life of the author in three stages, while you serves as a note to the reader & all of humankind. Explores life & all of its love, loss, grief, healing, empowerment, & inspirations.

REVIEW

A copy was given to me via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Rating: ★★★★☆

This book was the winner of the Goodreads Choice Award for Poetry (2016) but since it had mixed reviews, I didn’t raise my expectations.

Honestly, I’m not sure what I feel about this book. To me, it’s the kind that you either love or you don’t. There’s no in between.

THE BAD

It doesn’t seem like poetry. AT ALL.

I’m a person who likes both the classic and contemporary style but I feel like this one doesn’t belong in either. I’ve stated in my review of Lang Leav’s Memories that her poetry seemed like it was just sentences separated into lines to resemble a poem.

However, this one was ACTUALLY full sentences with line breaks after every two to three words.

if

love

is a

battlefield,

then i

must have

forgotten

all of

my armor

at

home.

 

– a war i never agreed to fight.

There are also some that made me question if it’s really necessary to include them in the book. This one is a great example.

he loves me.

he loves me not.

he loves her.

he loves her not.

 

he loves me.

he loves me not.

 

he loves her.

he loves her not.

 

he loves me.

he loves me not.

he loves her.

he loves her not.

 

he loves me.

he loves me not.

 

he loves her.

he loves her not.

 

he loves me.

he loves me not.

 

– i ran out of petals.

I am pretty sure anyone can write something like that.

However, to her credit, Amanda answered a question on Goodreads that clarified her writing style.

“i’m a lover of poetry, but i’m also a huge bookworm and a fan of prose style storytelling. i wanted to write something that sort of melded the two forms of writing together so it was a true reflection of who i am. (:”

THE GOOD

This made me cry.

I am big fan of poetry so I’ve read a lot of poems but the poems in this book were the first to do that.
There is something about this that felt personal and you can really tell that it is close to the author’s heart.

children are not

meant to die

before their

parents.

 

i was not

meant to grow

older than

my eldest sister.

 

we were meant

to be

four sisters,

not three.

 

you were not meant

to be a can of ashes

on your mother’s

bedside table.

 

after all,

you were the one

who always burned

the brightest.

 

– fate is a fucking lie.

Reading this felt like reading an autobiography. I can almost say that there is character development — from a princess, to a damsel, then finally, to a queen.

This book is really good if you look past the unnecessary line breaks and focus on the message instead.

there is not

enough

rainwater

in all

the skies

to rinse

the

innocent

blood

from

your hands.

 

– their lives will always matter.

I think that this book will appeal to those who have dealt with grief in one way or another. And even though I am not a big fan of the writing style, I am giving this 4 stars because it has certainly affected me in some way.

4 thoughts on “Review: The Princess Saves Herself in this One

  1. Hi. I’ve heard a lot about your reviews but this is actually my first time reading one. I like it. I like you. It was very honest and straightforward. You are my kind of writer. How to be you po? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Express your sentiments.

