Review: Memories

25330489
Memories by Lang Leav

Published October 6th 2015 by Andrews McMeel Publishing

Genre: Poetry

Recommended to: people who like simple, basic poetry

Not recommended to: serious fans of poetry

add to goodreads
add to goodreads

Best-selling poet Lang Leav presents a gorgeous hardcover gift book featuring the best of Lullabies and Love & Misadventure plus thirty-five new poems for fans to discover, along with original color illustrations by the author.

For fans of Lang Leav, this beautiful gift book is a must-have! Beloved pieces from Lullabies and Love & Misadventure are collected together in this illustrated treasury. In addition, 35 new poems that have not been published in any Lang Leav collection offer something new to discover. The author’s original art is presented in lovely four-color illustrations.

REVIEW

Shoutout to my friend who has given this to me as a gift! 😀

Rating: ★★★☆☆

I had high expectations for this but sadly, it didn’t live up to it.

I read her first book, Love & Misadventure and all I can remember is that I liked it. I wonder if my standard for poetry has changed or if that book was just better. This one is a compilation of the best pieces from her two previous books but the ones that I’ve already read has lost its appeal to me.

Good poetry should be something that gets better the more you read it which is the reason why I’ve memorized my favorite pieces and this book failed in that aspect.

Mostly, it seemed like it was just sentences separated into lines to resemble a poem.

When words run dry,
     he does not try,
     nor do I.
We are on par.
He just is,
     I just am,
     and we just are.


– He and I

The flow of the words didn’t feel natural and Lang Leav uses rhymes a lot. I have long since gotten over the fact that poems need to rhyme. For me, the best poems are those that flow freely, that would make you feel like the words belong together. I don’t know if it’s just me but when I read good poetry, the reading voice in my head sounds beautiful. When I read this, it just sounded monotonous. (I don’t know if that’s normal but that’s how I am. Haha.)

I find it ironic how this is widely marketed as a poetry book but I didn’t like the poems. Although I did not like the book as much as I thought I would, some of her prose stood out to me. The piece about Love and Patience was exceptionally good. Below are also some of the ones that I liked.

“And it wasn’t my choice to love you but it was mine to leave. I don’t think the moon ever meant to be a satellite, kept in loving orbit, locked in hopeless inertia, destined to repeat the same pattern over and over—to meet in eclipse with the sun—only when the numbers allowed.”

– Numbers

“You were the storm that changed the skyline. After the damage and the deluge, I could see things so much clearer. There hasn’t been another like you since.”

–  After the Storm

I can definitely see Lang Leav’s appeal to the general public. Her work is simple and relatable. But if you’re a big fan of poetry, I suggest that you read something else. Then again, maybe it’s just a matter of preference. I never really understood why a lot of poetry fans like Charles Bukowski.

P.S. This is a really pretty book. If you love aesthetically pleasing books in your library, this will be a great addition. 😀

One thought on “Review: Memories

Express your sentiments.

