Review: It Started With Goodbye

27830287

It Started With Goodbye by Christina June

Expected publication: May 9th, 2017 by Blink/HarperCollins

Genre: Young Adult | Contemporary | Romance

Recommended to: people who like light summer reads

add to goodreads
add to goodreads

Sixteen-year-old Tatum Elsea is bracing for the worst summer of her life. After being falsely accused of a crime, she’s stuck under stepmother-imposed house arrest and her BFF’s gone ghost. Tatum fills her newfound free time with community service by day and working at her covert graphic design business at night (which includes trading emails with a cute cello-playing client). When Tatum discovers she’s not the only one in the house keeping secrets, she finds she has the chance to make amends with her family and friends. Equipped with a new perspective, and assisted by her feisty step-abuela-slash-fairy-godmother, Tatum is ready to start fresh and maybe even get her happy ending along the way.

REVIEW

This book was given to me via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Rating: ★★★★☆

This book is a Cinderella retelling but it’s different from the fairy tale except for a few similarities. I love retellings because I am always curious on how the author will take a well-known story and make it their own. Christina June didn’t let me down on this one.

This book was a light and highly enjoyable read that I actually spent my time reading until 4 A.M. just so I could finish it. And it was totally worth it.

Sometimes, books don’t need to have complicated plots and unexpected twists for it to be considered good. This book is one of those. It brought back wistful memories of summer, of growing up and making mistakes.

Tatum is a character that speaks to me. She is real and flawed and I love her for it. Reading the book made me feel like I was in her shoes. Her happiness and sorrows felt like my own. This particular part struck me.

“I cried for the girl whose voice remained unheard, who did her best to be good but didn’t always get it right. I cried for the girl constantly trying to forge a connection, to find someone who took her at face value and didn’t ask her to be something she wasn’t. I cried for the doors that had closed and ones that might never open.”

Another great thing about this book is the friendship. Tatum and Abby really make an awesome pair. There was an unexpected friendship, too (and I’m not telling who 😉 ).

I had a hard time deciding on the rating for this one. But the reason why I gave this 4 stars was that I wish this had more SK in it. While I was reading, I looked forward to seeing his name. Christina June really did an awesome job with her characters. Although SK didn’t appear in majority of the book, his character shone through even in the letters he wrote. Tatum said it well in this particular line.

“He was the exclamation point at the end of a particularly long and frustrating, yet ultimately satisfying chapter in the book of my life.”

YES! I completely agree. And I don’t say this often but I demand a book two. Please. I need to know more about SK.

P.S. I am definitely buying this book when it comes out. Well, actually, I just pre-ordered it. 😀

4 thoughts on “Review: It Started With Goodbye

Express your sentiments.

