Review: Remembrance (The Mediator #7)

11016

Remembrance (The Mediator #7) by Meg Cabot

Published February 2nd 2016 by William Morrow Paperbacks

Genre: Adult | Paranormal | Romance

Recommended to: people who liked The Mediator series, fans of Meg Cabot

All Susannah Simon wants is to make a good impression at her first job since graduating from college (and since becoming engaged to Dr. Jesse de Silva). But when she’s hired as a guidance counselor at her alma mater, she stumbles across a decade-old murder, and soon ancient history isn’t all that’s coming back to haunt her. Old ghosts as well as new ones are coming out of the woodwork, some to test her, some to vex her, and it isn’t only because she’s a mediator, gifted with second sight.

What happens when old ghosts come back to haunt you? If you’re a mediator, you might have to kick a little ass.

From a sophomore haunted by the murderous specter of a child to ghosts of a very different kind—including Paul Slater, Suze’s ex, who shows up to make a bargain Suze is certain must have come from the Devil himself—Suze isn’t sure she’ll make it through the semester, let alone to her wedding night. Suze is used to striking first and asking questions later. But what happens when ghosts from her past—including one she found nearly impossible to resist—strike first?

REVIEW

Rating: ★★★★★

I have always loved the Mediator series and when I heard that Meg Cabot wrote a sequel, I was not only thrilled, I was ecstatic.

Meg Cabot has been one of my favorite authors and her Princess Diaries and The Mediator series are one of my favorites. Not to mention her other books that I really liked, which, if I will list them all will take a while.

So naturally, I was also a little nervous and skeptical before reading this. What if it’s not as good as I expected? What if I grew up and the characters I have always loved before weren’t so cool anymore?

I guess I shouldn’t have worried too much. I loved every bit of this book.

Yes, it is not as great as some books and maybe it’s just my bias showing but as I have stated in my rating guide, I rate books based on feeling. And this book made me feel a lot. It made me laugh out loud, fall in love, sad, angry, and happy at the same time.

WHAT I LIKED:
  1. Jesse. Yes. Jesse should be number one. He is 90% of the reason why I like the series so much. The thing I love most about Meg Cabot’s books is that her characters always made an impression to me, most especially the guys. In fact, Michael from the Princess Diaries has always been my number one. I wasn’t sure where Jesse stood before but after reading this, I’m thinking he should be number two. 😉
  2. Suze. The other reason why Meg Cabot is one of my fave authors is that in some way, I have always identified with her female characters. We’re not exactly alike but I see a part of myself in them and it makes me feel closer to the story. Also, Suze might not be Meg’s best female character but she is definitely badass.
  3. The humor. The thing I really look forward to in a Meg Cabot book is the humor. It’s not the obvious kind but one that will make you laugh in the smallest things. There was a scene in this book which was supposed to be intense and serious but somehow, it was also kinda funny to me. Maybe Meg and I just share the same sense of humor. (Haha!)
  4. The story behind the ghost, Lucia. This one was entirely unexpected. Well, I didn’t really have expectations for the story behind it so I wasn’t able to guess but it was really sad. And that’s kind of a good thing, if that makes sense.
WHAT I DIDN’T LIKE:
  1. Paul. Okay, only Paul. There were times when I was about to change my opinion of him but still, at the end, he is very immature. Does he think he’s still in high school? Sometimes, I wanted to reach out inside the book and shake some sense into him. He was part of the main conflict of the book which made me feel frustrated and if he just grew up, he wouldn’t be.

Well, this review turned out to not only be a review of the book but also of Meg Cabot’s awesomeness. And if you haven’t read a single book from her, YOU DEFINITELY SHOULD.

P.S. She is also a really great person. After reading Royal Wedding (The Princess Diaries #11), I sent her a long letter about the series and how much I love it on Goodreads. I didn’t think she would reply but months later, she eventually did and it made me so, so, happy. 😀

2 thoughts on “Review: Remembrance (The Mediator #7)

Express your sentiments.

