Review: The Sixth Event

11016

The Sixth Event by Kristen Morie-Osisek

Published May 13th 2016 by Evernight Teen

Genre: Young Adult | Science Fiction | Fantasy

Recommended to: people who like apocalyptic stories

During Raquel’s first semester of college, she witnesses the end of the world, only to wake up in her old room at her parents’ house two years in the past. Even worse, it seems she’s the only one who remembers—until Chris Lyley, a boy Raquel always thought was a loser, tells her he remembers the catastrophe.

Before long, they both discover new abilities. They’re able to understand any language and teleport through time and space. If Raquel and Chris can figure out what caused the end of their world, maybe they can stop it.

REVIEW

This book was given to me via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I am really sad to say this but this book didn’t do it for me.

I really wanted to like it. I tried hard. I read the reviews on Goodreads and Amazon and a lot of people did.

The concept was really nice. Two teenagers who witnessed the end of the world suddenly woke up two years before it happened. When I read the blurb, I was really excited on how this would play out. I imagined thrilling, fast-paced scenes, awesome friendships and a great romance. Sadly, this book fell short of that.

PLOT

I like to compare the plot to a house that had a nice framework but unfortunately, lacked interior designing. This book had great foundation. Having the chance to save the world is an awesome idea. Sadly, the events leading up to that had no impact. To me, it was as if the characters were like, “Okay, let’s save the world and be done with it.

The worldbuilding was not properly executed. Sometimes, I had a hard time imagining things, most especially at the end. It was supposed to be the most important part but I didn’t feel anything because it was not properly described.

Lastly, the end was a bit rushed. The story dragged on for so long that it had very little space left for the ending. I was really worried when I was at more than 90% of the book and the climax still wasn’t happening.

CHARACTERS

The characters were forgettable and didn’t have that much “character” into them. I’m the type of reader who wants diversity. I want to be able to differentiate them from the rest of the books I’ve read. I want them to break away from stereotypes. Sadly, Raquel was just your usual, average girl and Chris is kinda annoying sometimes. The other characters were also not properly developed. A few days from now, I won’t be able to tell who’s who.

ROMANCE

I honestly think this was not a requirement for this book. At first, I didn’t feel the chemistry between the two main characters and the way they got together was so out of the blue that I was utterly shocked. However, I won’t deny that there were moments that it was almost great. But it still wasn’t enough.

This book is not entirely bad. It just wasn’t for me and it didn’t have the things I always look for. However, some people liked it so you might, too.

If you have read this book or are planning to, let me know about your thoughts below. 🙂

Express your sentiments.

